Europe: First Stop, Greece

Greece has always been my top travel destination aside from Japan. I was very interested in Greek mythology, obviously, not from a scholar’s point of view, it was more of a mere interest or curiosity. For this trip, I decided to spend at least a week in Greece, starting from Athens (3 days 2 nights), Santorini (3 days 2 nights) and Mykonos (3 days 2 nights). My route was taking a flight from London to Athens then from Athens I flew to Santorini. From there, I took a ferry to Mykonos.

Aerial view of Athens. Had to be honest here, I was (a little) taken aback by how brown the land looked (if it makes any sense), as compared to the one I saw when I left London, the fields were much greener.

Aerial view of Athens. Had to be honest here, I was (a little) taken aback by how brown the landscape looked (if it makes any sense), as compared to the one I saw when I left London where the landscape was much greener.

I visited most of the main attraction sites in Athens namely the Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Acropolis Museum and many more. Fortunately, these places were within walkable distance from my hostel. Hence, I walked all the way to Plaka and later, I went on to Acropolis and I saved the Temple of Zeus for last.

Plaka, the street filled with cafes, restaurants and souvenir shops.

Plaka, the street filled with cafes, restaurants and souvenir shops.

The view over the city of Athens.

The view over the city of Athens.

The Parthenon atop of Acropolis.

The Parthenon atop of Acropolis. The ongoing construction work was to help preserve the ancient structure.

The Temple of Zeus with the remaining pillars.

The Temple of Zeus with the remaining pillars.

Inside the Acropolis Museum.

Inside the Acropolis Museum.

In order to save up money, I booked the cheapest flight to Santorini. It was a 6:30am flight and I had to be at the airport 3 hours early. Because I wanted to make the most out of my last night in Athens, I went to bed at 1am then I had to wake up at 2am, leave for the airport at 3am. If it wasn’t for the fact that I was in law school for 3 years, functioning with just an hour of sleep would’ve been impossible. Though I was very moody due to sleep deprivation, I was greeted with great hospitality when I arrived at Santorini. The place I stayed at provided pickup services from the airport which saved me the trouble of locating my accommodation. Moreover, the lady who runs the villa offered me free breakfast on my first day while making recommendations on which beach should I visit first. She recommended Kamari beach over the more famous and touristy Perissa beach and there I went. And what was the first thing I did when I got there? I slept throughout the afternoon by the beach. It was really something you have to experience, the life of a lotus-eater. Yes, we do sometimes do nothing all day and just lounge around at home but the difference with this was that, you’re gonna be waking up to blue seas and blue skies. How awesome is that?!

DSC00792

Kamari beach.

DSC01029 - Copy

The famous picturesque village of Oia.

The red beach.

The red beach.

The night view of Fira a.k.a Thira, capital city of Santorini. (Please excuse the poor quality of the image)

The night view of Fira a.k.a Thira, capital city of Santorini. (Please excuse the poor quality of the image)

Mykonos, true to what I’ve heard, it was indeed a party wonderland. Sadly, I went there before the peak of summer so my friend and I didn’t got to see any summertime clubbing scenes. Still, we did saw quite a number of party animals roaming about the island. The beaches such as Super Paradise beach, Platis Gialos beach were breathtaking. The waters were exactly as what I’ve seen on Google images, 50 shades of blue. The waters were so clear that you can actually see little fishes swimming as you dip your feet.

The Mykonos windmills.

The Mykonos windmills.

Mykonos's Little Venice.

Mykonos’s Little Venice.

At Super Paradise beach. I could swim all day in these waters!

At Super Paradise beach. I could swim all day in these waters!

DSC01495

Just keep swimming just keep swimming.

The Platis Gialos beach which was very near from where we stayed. This was more of a family beach whereas Super Paradise and Paradise beach were more of a couples or youngsters beach.

The Platis Gialos beach which was very near from where we stayed. This was more of a family beach whereas Super Paradise and Paradise beach were more of a couples or youngsters beach.

Evening view of Psarou beach. This place gave me the feeling that this is where all them rich people hang out as the menu here was very expensive and you can tell from the number of yachts parked by this beach that this is one fancy ass beach hahahaha!

Evening view of Psarou beach. This place gave me the feeling that this is where all them rich people hang out as the menu here was expensive and you can tell from the number of yachts parked by this beach that this is one fancy ass beach hahahaha!

Overall, Athens was interesting and my trip to the Greek islands was very surreal as I saw the village of Oia, a view that looked like something out of a postcard with my own eyes, sunbathing by the crystal clear waters of Mediterranean sea and also, travelling around the islands riding ATVs. I would definitely return to Santorini and Mykonos one day and in addition, I would like to explore the other Greek islands such as Corfu and Rhodes. However, this time, I’m gonna bring a whole bunch of sunscreens. Them beach visits and constant walk under the scorching sun turned me into a brown potato *unamused face* .

4 thoughts on “Europe: First Stop, Greece

Leave a Reply

