Europe: Third Stop, Austria

When I set foot in Salzburg Hauptbahnhof (Interesting fact here, Hauptbahnhof literally means main railway station), I realized I’ve made a big mistake. I did not look up on the weather and the temperature in Austria during the early summer. As in, whether it rains often or whether it was cold. So, when I was walking around in the station, I felt like a complete idiot wherein everyone around me was wearing like its autumn here and there I was, with my friend. I swear, we were most likely the only ones in the entire station with shorts and slippers. Yeap, it was like I was back in Bristol where it’s cold and wet. Thank goodness, I brought along a pair of trousers (the only one, in fact) and I quickly went and changed.

I started from Salzburg (3 days 2 nights) then I went to Vienna (5 days 4 nights) as Salzburg was closer to Venice which was where I left earlier. The main and perhaps, only reason I visited Austria was because of the fact that the Sound of Music was filmed in Salzburg. My friend, especially, was a huge fan of the movie. Boy, did we missed the bigger picture here! Austria was more than just that, it was breathtaking! The people here were very friendly and nice, the cities are very clean, the weather was great compared to the heat in Greece and Italy.

The love lock bridge in Salzburg city centre.

The love lock bridge in Salzburg city centre.

Apparently, I was here before. Where art thou. John?

Apparently, I was here before. Where art thou. John?

Inside St. Peter's Cemetery where Mozart's sister was buried here and also it served as an inspiration of the set where the scene of the Von Trapps were hiding from the Nazis was filmed.

Inside St. Peter’s Cemetery where Mozart’s sister was buried here and also it served as an inspiration of the set where the scene of the Von Trapps hiding from the Nazis was filmed.

Mirabell gardens where Julie Andrews sang that spectacular note in 'Do Re Mi'.

Mirabell gardens where Julie Andrews sang that spectacular note in ‘Do Re Mi’.

Love is definitely in the air for these two lovebirds.

Love is definitely in the air for these two lovebirds. #gaypride2015

Raindrops on roses...

Raindrops on roses…

I am 16 going on 17, I know that I'm naive. Fellows I meet may tell me I'm sweet, and willingly I believe

” I am 16 going on 17, I know that I’m naive. Fellows I meet may tell me I’m sweet, and willingly I believe.” Fun fact: This isn’t the actual Gazebo used in the film, it’s a replica.

When we got to Salzburg, we signed up for a Maria bike tour. The tour guide took us to the various locations where some of the scenes in the movie were shot. Although the bike tour was cut short due to the rain, we returned and did a day trip to Salzburg after we left Vienna. We thought that we needed another day in Salzburg as we were on our way to Munich. I could still remember the bike trials to all of the places we’ve been during the bike tour but I couldn’t figure out how to get to the gazebo. Shame, really, as I wanted to take a picture with the row of trees where Maria sang ‘I have Confidence’. As we revisited Salzburg, I fell in love with the scenery of the countryside as we cycled through the outskirts of town.

Sunny weather in Salzburg which was very rare.

Revisiting Salzburg for a day trip: Sunny weather which was very rare.

Since Salzburg is bike-friendly cities, cycling around town is a must-do!

Since Salzburg is bike-friendly city, cycling around town is a must!

View of Salzburg cathedral from the hill.

View of Salzburg cathedral from the hills.

” We -my brothers and sisters- we want to see Fraulein Maria. “

vlcsnap-2015-10-12-16h20m52s070

DSC02977

Here’s a comparison of the scene where the children went to look for Maria at the Chapel. Time really flies as it has been 50 years.

A meadow in the outskirts of town.

A meadow in the outskirts of town.

The lakeview of the Von Trapp residence. Fun fact: the shot of the front and back of the mansion comprises of two houses. Oh the illusions Hollywood does!

The lakeview of the Von Trapp residence.
Fun fact: the shot of the front and back of the mansion comprises of two houses. Oh the illusions Hollywood does!

Vienna was beautiful. My friend and I got to choose one specific activity to do here. After some googling, I suggested a trip to the Vienna Zoo which was the oldest zoo in the world! Besides, I haven’t been to a zoo in ages! My friend planned a visit to the State Opera where we watched a night show. We got standing tickets which was way cheaper, perfect for backpackers! Though the show was in Italian (I think), they have subtitles on the screens. Still, the downside of this was, when you’re trying to understand the plot, you kinda missed the expressions of the actors and actresses. So I didn’t got to enjoy the entire show, but the experience was really once in a lifetime thing.

The State Opera in Vienna.

The State Opera in Vienna.

Inside the Opera house.

Inside the Opera house.

The Botanical Garden whilst on the way to the Vienna Zoo.

The Botanical Garden whilst on the way to the Vienna Zoo.

Ngom ngom ngom goes the panda, obviously oblivious to the fact that an audience is behind.

Ngom ngom ngom goes the panda, obviously oblivious to the fact that an audience is behind.

Them polar bears!

Them polar bears!

We have the photogenic guy and now the photogenic pelican!

We have the photogenic guy and now the photogenic pelican!

One of the scenes in 'Woman in Gold' was shot here. It was amazeballs getting to witness a movie that was recently filmed in a city I was visiting and the chemistry between Helen Mirren and Ryan Reynolds was amusing to watch.

One of the scenes in ‘Woman in Gold’ was shot here. It was amazeballs getting to witness a movie that was recently filmed in a city I was visiting and the chemistry between Helen Mirren and Ryan Reynolds was amusing to watch.

At Heldenplatz which was near Hofburg Palace in Vienna.

At Heldenplatz which was near Hofburg Palace in Vienna.

The Museum of Natural History.

The Museum of Natural History.

Personally, I’d like to return to Austria one day as I really love the environment of the cities and its people. Initially, Austria was my friend’s idea and I know nothing about it till now. It is more than just the movie here, it was the birthplace of Mozart, classical music and so much more. I’ll definitely be adding Hallstatt in my itinerary in the future as I’ve heard, it is out of this world.

4 thoughts on “Europe: Third Stop, Austria

  1. POLAR BEARS ❤ and Austria does sound amazing! Much better than Paris and Italy! And I didn't know you spent like so many days there @@ probably could've stayed there for like 3 weeks when it looks so good :O

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it is, we must visit there in the future, I’m saving up for our future trips 🙂 Yeah, especially due to the heat. We extended one night in Vienna in exchange for one in Germany as we were really enjoying the city vibes ❤ Yes I would hahaha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

