Europe: Fifth stop, France

The last stop of our Europe adventure was none other than the city of love, Paris. First thing we noticed as we got to the station was the change in our surrounding temperature. It was hot and sunny in Paris which means, finally, my friend and I can switch to shorts!

DSC03132

Scattered clouds and blue skies at the Palais Garnier.

DSC03170

This was the Love Lock bridge.

DSC03171

Love locks from couples all around the world.

We went for a walking tour around the city where the tour guide brought us to places such as the Love Lock bridge and the Louvre. We could also see the Eiffel Tower from afar as we passed by these landmarks. Out of all the tourist sites we’ve been to, I was less than impressed with the Moulin Rouge and Champs-Élysées. All this while I’ve heard about how famous these two places were and when I do get there and see it with my own eyes, I was just like ‘Oh so this is how they looked like…’. Where I come from, we have a lot of shopping malls and galleries. So, the Champs-Élysées was nothing more than an open-air shopping gallery to me. As for the Moulin Rouge, there is nothing spectacular to see after you’ve snapped pictures of that windmill.

DSC03217

View of the Eiffel Tower from the garden near the Louvre.

DSC03270

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris.

DSC03296

The famous Notre Dame de Paris.

DSC03344

Hot and sunny at the Louvre pyramid.

DSC03370

The Eiffel Tower

DSC03421

Evening at the Arc de Triomphe.

On our last night, my brilliant friend managed to find this underground jazz cafe which had a gig going on and best of all, it was within walking distance from our hostel! I’ve always, always wanted to visit a jazz or blues cafe where there’s a live band playing, kinda like the ones I’ve seen in movies. That night, my wish came true. The experience was truly bliss. I felt like I was in the Disney movie ‘The Aristocats’ as I watched the musicians indulged in sweet melody on stage.

DSC03436

Night at the Moulin Rouge.

DSC03503 (2)

Everybody wants to be a cat!

If I ever have a chance to visit Paris again, I’d go during the fall because I did not enjoy the scorching summer weather during my stay. It was worse than what I’ve experienced in the Greek islands. At least we were surrounded by the sea there but not in Paris. Still, I’d have to admit Paris was beautiful. Like the quote in ‘Ratatouille’…

 “What better place to dream than in Paris.”

DSC03489

(A/N : This post was originally written in November last year, December was a busy month for me, that’s why I kept putting it off but now I’m back! A happy new year to all my readers, may the new year bring you love, joy and success 🙂 )

3 thoughts on “Europe: Fifth stop, France

Leave a Reply

